Skip to content

Part 2: Update

This is Part 2 of the exercise. In this exercise, you will update a blueprint by adding a new blueprint version and then disable the prior blueprint version to prevent the old version from being applied to further clusters.


What Will You Do

In this part, you will:

  • Update the blueprint by adding a new version
  • Disable the older blueprint version

Step 1: Update Blueprint

In this step, we will update the blueprint by adding a new version.

  • Navigate to the previously created "central" project in your Org
  • Select Infrastructure -> Blueprints
  • Click on the previously created blueprint
  • Click "New Version"
  • Enter the "Version Name"
  • Select the minimal blueprint as the base blueprint
  • Click "Save Changes"

Update Blueprint

You will then see both the new and the old versions of the blueprint.

Update Blueprint


Step 2: Disable Blueprint

In this step, we will disable the older version of the blueprint. Disabling the blueprint version will prevent users from applying that version to clusters and it will also present an upgrade notification on the cluster card of the clusters that are currently using that blueprint version.

  • Navigate to the previously created "central" project in your Org
  • Select Infrastructure -> Blueprints
  • Click the "Disable" icon on the oldest blueprint version
  • Click "Yes" to disable the blueprint version

Disable Blueprint

The blueprint version will now display as inactive.

Disable Blueprint


Recap

Congratulations! At this point, you have

  • Successfully updated a blueprint with a newer version
  • Successfully disabled the older blueprint version